Architecture

The HoHo Vienna and its architecture

When you look at HoHo Vienna from the outside you are reminded a little of huge wooden blocks with a facade reminiscent of tree bark. Naturalness and above all the exposed wood surfaces in the interior are part of the underlying idea of making wood in this high-rise a perceptible experience. HoHo Vienna not only looks sleek and exudes a natural charm, it also demonstrates creativeness when it comes to the use of space: the modular office format permits later individual changes that can be modified at any time without much effort. This flexible arrangement of the floor plan additionally ensures that the high-rise will never lose its allure for tenants, because it guarantees a very long life span in a friendly atmosphere. In a manner of speaking, the feel-good factor showcases itself – tangible every day for all who pass by and all who enter.

 

Technology

Intelligent solutions in the world's tallest timber high-rise

The concept of timber-hybrid construction for large-volume buildings was completely re-developed for the construction of HoHo Vienna in order to optimally satisfy all town planning requirements. With a height of roughly 84 metres, the special requirements in terms of structure planning, fire protection and efficient usability are particularly critical. The construction system kept deliberately simple combines systems already available on the market, thus guaranteeing an efficient, highly flexible and safe hybrid construction building that offers a remarkable degree of sustainability. Each material is used in such a manner as to ensure that the various requirements are best met. Thanks to innovative wood technology, roughly 75 percent of the building from the ground floor up will be made of wood; the service core will be constructed of solid reinforced concrete to which the timber supporting structure is secured.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Construction System

The HoHo Vienna as a showcase project for hybrid construction

The simplicity of the construction system used in the making of HoHo Vienna and the manner in which it combines different construction materials make up its appeal, with wood always taking a front seat. The system, which is kept deliberately simple, stacks up four pre-fabricated, serial building elements: supports, joist, ceiling plates and facade elements. The wood composite floors are secured to the building's supporting core structures and extend out to the facade. The serial elements that make up the wood composite floor structures are supported by wooden columns in the outer facade layer. The columns, in turn, form a common mounting element with the likewise prefabricated outer wall elements made of solid wood and the "earthy" mineral sandwich shell structure that forms the building's facade. The exposed interior wood surfaces of the continuous wood floor structures, the pillars and the outer wall create a sensual, natural atmosphere.

The concept of reduction to only a few, simple structural elements and connections and using them in large numbers captures the benefits of an economy of costs. At HoHo Vienna, the calculated resistance to fire is warranted by the use of suitably dimensioned wooden elements and the building's efficient design. Cladding with other materials is therefore not necessary. Very important: by using wood in this manner, it remains an essential element of the indoor Environment.

 

Energy concept

You can't beat wood!

HoHo Vienna will be built according to the criteria of the new TQB assessment system (total quality building) developed by the Austrian Sustainable Building Council (ÖGNB). In so doing, the quality of the wooden high-rise will be documented and certified from planning to construction to use.

The sophisticated energy concept developed by HoHo Vienna encompasses energy supply measures and measures for the prevention of energy loss. They include: lifts equipped with energy recovery technology, photovoltaic systems, air/water collectors for the pool, fundament absorbers as well as a decentralised ventilation system with air-conditioning.

 

Interior

Open-plan office, individual module or something entirely different?

Flexibility is central to the sophisticated space allocation plan. For future tenants and their rental premises this means: easy participation in decision-making with regard to room design, not only before construction begins, but long-term variable options – anytime! Long-term flexibility and neutrality of use: the modular office format also permits later individual changes that can be modified without much effort at any time. In addition, the concept of reduction to only a few, simple structural elements and connections and using them in large numbers results in an economy of costs. Longevity is an essential factor when contemplating efficient sustainability.

 

Ecological Performance Indicators

The ecological performance indicators of HoHo Vienna

We are all well aware that wood has many wonderful properties. HoHo Vienna "utilises", "installs", "exploits" and "employs" wood as a material in the best manner possible.

  • Roughly 3,600 m3 of wood are used in the entire construction, corresponding to 0.6 per mill of Austria's annual surplus timber production!
  • Compared to reinforced concrete construction, the use of wood avoids some 2,800 tonnes of CO2 equivalents. This corresponds to approx. 20 million passenger car kilometres or 1,300 years of daily car drives over a distance of 40 kilometres.
  • In addition, compared to reinforced concrete construction, the HoHo Vienna construction method saves some 300,000 megawatt hours of primary energy. This corresponds to primary energy savings of 300,000 mWh! This is approximately the amount of energy needed to heat a tenement with 32 apartments over a period of 1,100 years.
 

Facts & Figures

HoHo Vienna Facts & figures:

Owner/Principal: cetus Baudevelopment GmbH, Caroline Palfy and investor Günter Kerbler
Architecture and planning: RLP Rüdiger Lainer + Partner, Univ. Prof. Rüdiger Lainer
Planning of support structure, building physics and building services engineering: RWT+ZT GmbH, Richard Woschitz,

MZT Dr. Ronald Mischek ZT GmbH

Fire protection engineering: Kunz - die innovativen Brandschutzplaner, Alexander Kunz, MSc
Gross floor area: 25,000 sq. m.
Rental space: 19,500 sq. m.
Size of property: 3,920 sq. m.
Type of building: high-rise using innovative wood construction technology
Number of floors: 24 floors
Height: 84 metres
Use: commercial
Start of construction: presumably spring 2016
Completion: scheduled construction time 2 years
Investment volume: approx. EUR 65 million

Architektur

Das HoHo Wien und seine Architektur
Betrachtet man das HoHo Wien von außen, denkt man ein wenig an riesige Holzbausteine mit einer Fassade, die an eine Baumrinde erinnert. Natürlichkeit und vor allem die Sichtbarkeit der Holzflächen im Innenbereich gehören in diesem Hochhaus zur Kernidee für spürbares Erleben des Elements Holz.
Das HoHo Wien sieht jedoch nicht nur optisch schick aus und versprüht natürlichen Charme, sondern beweist auch bei der Flächennutzung Kreativität: der modulare Büro-Aufbau lässt nachträglich individuelle und jederzeit änderbare Umgestaltungen ohne großen Aufwand zu. Diese flexible Grundrissgliederung sorgt zusätzlich dafür, dass dieses Holzhochhaus seine Attraktivität für Mieter nie verliert, da eine sehr lange Nutzung in freundlichem Ambiente garantiert werden kann. Das ganzheitliche Konzept von Architekt Rüdiger Lainer inszeniert den Faktor Wohlfühlen sozusagen von selbst – denn dieses "Wohlige" ist täglich erlebbar für alle, die vorbeigehen und für alle, die hinein gehen.

 

Technologie

Intelligente Lösungen im weltweit höchsten Holzhochhaus
Für den Bau des HoHo Wien wurde das Thema Holz-Hybrid-Bauweise für großvolumige Bauten neu durchdacht um alle städtebaulichen Kriterien bestens zu erfüllen. Bei rund 84 Meter Höhe sind die besonderen Anforderungen hinsichtlich Tragwerksplanung, Brandschutz und effizienter Nutzbarkeit besonders brisant. Das bewusst einfach entwickelte Bau-System vereint bereits am Markt befindliche Systeme und garantiert so ein wirtschaftliches, hochflexibles und sicheres Gebäude in Hybridbauweise mit einem beachtlichen Nachhaltigkeitsgrad. Jedes Material wird so eingesetzt, dass es jeweils am besten den unterschiedlichen Anforderungen entspricht.
Dank innovativer Holz-Technik wird der Holzbauanteil ab dem Erdgeschoß bei rund 75 Prozent liegen, der Erschließungskern ist massiv aus Stahlbeton, hier setzt die Holztragekonstruktion auf.

 

Bau-System

Das HoHo Wien als Vorzeigeprojekt im Hybridbau
Das Bau-System des HoHo Wien besticht durch seine Schlichtheit und seine Bündelung von mehreren Baustoffen, wobei Holz immer im Vordergrund steht. Das bewusst einfache System verwendet die Stapelung vier vorgefertigter, serieller Bauelemente: Stützen, Unterzug, Deckenplatten und Fassadenelemente. An die tragenden Gebäudekerne werden die Grundflächen aus Holzverbunddecken angelagert, die ihren Abschluss an den Fassaden finden. Diese seriellen Elemente der Holzverbunddecken sind auf Holzstützen in der abschließenden Fassadenschicht  aufgelagert. Die Stützen wiederum bilden mit den ebenfalls vorgefertigten Außenwandmodulen aus Massivholz und der „erdigen“, mineralischen Sandwichschale als Fassadenoberfläche ein gemeinsames Montageelement. Die innen sichtbaren Holzflächen der durchgehenden Holzdecken, der Stützen und der Außenwand schaffen eine sinnliche, natürliche Atmosphäre.

Das Konzept der Reduktion auf wenige, einfache Bauelemente und -verbindungen in großer Zahl bewirkt gute wirtschaftliche Errichtungskosten. Der berechenbare Feuerwiderstand wird im HoHo Wien durch die angemessene Dimensionierung der Holzbauteile und die effiziente Konzeption des Gebäudes erreicht. Verkleidungen mit anderen Materialien sind daher nicht notwendig. Ganz wichtig: Holz ist auf diese Weise stets wesentlicher Teil der Innenraumatmosphäre.

 

Energiekonzept

Holz ist nicht zu toppen!
Das HoHo Wien wird nach den Kriterien des neuen Bewertungssystems TQB (Total Quality Building) der ÖGNB errichtet. Dadurch wird die Qualität des Holzhochhauses von der Planung über die Errichtung bis zur Nutzung dokumentiert und zertifiziert.
Das ausgefeilte Energiekonzept des HoHo Wiens umfasst sowohl Maßnahmen zur Energieversorgung als auch zur Vermeidung von Energieverlust. Dazu zählen unter anderem Aufzüge mit Energierückgewinnung, Photovoltaik-Anlagen, Luft-Wasser-Kollektoren für den Pool, Fundamentabsorber sowie ein dezentrales Lüftungssystem mit Konditionierung.

 

Innenraum

Großraumbüro oder Einzelmodul oder doch ganz anders?
Im Mittelpunkt des ausgefeilten Raumkonzepts steht die Flexibilität. Dies bedeutet für die künftigen Mieter und deren Mietflächen: einfaches Mitspracherecht bei der Gestaltung der Räumlichkeiten nicht nur vor Baubeginn, sondern langfristig variable Möglichkeiten – jederzeit! Auf lange Zeit flexibel und nutzungsneutral: der modulare Büro-Aufbau lässt auch nachträglich individuelle und jederzeit änderbare Umgestaltungen ohne großen Aufwand zu.  Das Konzept der Reduktion auf wenige, einfache Bauelemente und -verbindungen in großer Zahl bewirkt zudem wirtschaftliche Errichtungskosten. Die Langlebigkeit ist ein wesentlicher Faktor bei der Betrachtung einer effizienten Nachhaltigkeit.

 

Ökologische Kennzahlen

Die ökologischen Kennzahlen des HoHo Wien

Dass Holz viele positive Eigenschaften hat, ist wohl jedem bekannt. Das HoHo Wien „verbraucht", „verbaut“, „verwertet“ und „verwendet“ das Material Holz bestens:

  • Für die gesamte Konstruktion werden ca. 3.600 m³ Holz verbaut, das sind 0,6 Promille des jährlichen österreichischen Holzüberschusses!
  • Die Holzbauweise spart gegenüber einer Ausführung in Stahlbeton rund 2.800 Tonnen CO₂-Äquivalente ein. Das entspricht ca. 20 Millionen PKW-Kilometer oder 1.300 Jahre täglich 40 Kilometer Autofahrt.
  • Und, die Bauweise des HoHo Wien spart gegenüber der Ausführung in Stahlbeton rund 300.000 Megawattstunden Primärenergie ein. Das entspricht einer Primärenergieersparnis von 300.000 mWh! Das ist etwa die Menge an Energie, welche für das Heizen eines Wohnhauses mit 32 Wohneinheiten in 1.100 Jahren erforderlich ist
 

Daten & Fakten

Daten & Fakten des HoHo Wien

Eigentümer /Auftraggeber: cetus Baudevelopment GmbH, Bmstr. Ing. Caroline Palfy, Investor Günter Kerbler
Architektur/Planung: RLP Rüdiger Lainer + PartnerArch. Univ.Prof. DI Rüdiger Lainer
Tragwerksplanung, Bauphysik, techn. Gebäudeausstattung: RWT+ZT GmbH, Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn. Richard Woschitz, MZT Dr. Ronald Mischek ZT GmbH
Brandschutzplanung: Kunz - die innovativen Brandschutzplaner, Bmstr. Dipl.-Ing. Alexander Kunz, MSc
Bruttogesamtfläche: 25.000 m²
Mietfläche: 19.500 m²
Grundstücksfläche: 3.920 m²
Gebäudeart: Hochhaus mit innovativer Holzbautechnik
Etagen: 24 Geschoße
Höhe: 84 Meter
Nutzung: Gewerbe
Baubeginn: voraussichtlich Frühjahr 2016
Fertigstellung: geplante Bauzeit 2 Jahre
Investitionsvolumen: rund 65 Millionen Euro